

Short-Term Rental Citizen Task Force Tuesday, April 30, 2024, at 7:00pm

One Justice Square 446 West Crogan Street, Lawrenceville, GA 30046 1st Floor Conference Center, Room 106

Task force members present: Carlene Bonit, Steve Brown, James Bulot, Kaylane Davis, William Diehl, Juan Estrada, Katrina Fellows, Edward Keiley, Soniya Momin, Kevin Powers

Absent: none

Staff present: Matt Dickison, Chris Hayward, Derek Cox, Tatyana Gibbs, and Andrew Russell

A. Welcome and introductions

The meeting was called to order by Chris Hayward at 7:00pm. Chris Hayward welcomed everyone to the task force and thanked them for their participation and everyone present introduced themselves.

B. Determination of a quorum (5 members)

All 10 members were in attendance, so it was determined that there was a quorum.

C. Approve agenda

Action: Agenda approved. Motion to approve: James Bulot, Second: Edward Keiley, Vote: 10-0

D. Elect a chair and vice-chair

Action: Item tabled, Motion to table: James Bulot, Second: Steve Brown Vote: 10-0

E. Task force purpose, roles, and responsibilities

Chris Hayward provided an overview of the purpose, roles, and responsibilities of the task force. Chris explained that this task force is subject to the open meetings act, open records, and record retention requirements.

F. Short-term rental overview

Chris Hayward provided an overview of short-term rentals and concerns that have been expressed by residents. Members of the task force asked several questions and shared their observations regarding the impact of short-term rentals on the community. Task force members requested additional data related to housing tenure and crime.

G. Establish meeting schedule

A proposed timeline for the task force was shared and discussed.

H. Discuss potential topics for future meetings and guest speakers

A proposed timeline for the task force was shared and discussed. Task force members requested additional data and a presentation by the Gwinnett County Police Department.

I. Adjourn

Action: meeting adjourned at 8:15pm, Motion: James Bulot, Second by Steve Brown Vote: 10-0 Meeting adjourned at 8:15pm