

# GWINNETT COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

75 Langley Drive | Lawrenceville, GA 30046-6935 0: 770.822.7000 | F: 770.822.7097 GwinnettCounty.com

> Nicole L. Hendrickson, Chairwoman Kirkland Dion Carden, District 1 Ben Ku, District 2 Jasper Watkins III, District 3 Matthew Holtkamp, District 4

#### Official

# Work Session Minutes Tuesday, January 7, 2025 - 10:00 AM

Present: Nicole L. Hendrickson, Ben Ku, Kirkland Carden, Jasper Watkins III, Matthew Holtkamp

#### I. Call To Order

### II. Approval of Agenda

{Action: Approved Motion: Ku Second: Carden Vote: 5-0; Hendrickson-Yes; Carden-Yes; Ku-Yes; Watkins-Yes; Holtkamp-Yes}

#### III. New Business

#### 1. Commissioners

**2025-0020 Approval** to cancel or move the following meetings of the Board of Commissioners: move the Tuesday, May 27, 2025 7:00 p.m. Public Hearing to Tuesday, May 20, 2025; cancel the Tuesday, July 1, 2025 10:00 a.m. Work Session and 2:00 p.m. Business Session; move the Tuesday, November 25, 2025 7:00 p.m. Public Hearing to Tuesday, November 18, 2025; move the December 16, 2025 10:00 a.m. Work Session and 2:00 p.m. Business Session to December 9, 2025; move the Tuesday, December 23, 2025 7:00 p.m. Public Hearing to Tuesday, December 9, 2025.

Consent - Ku

**2025-0021 Approval** to appoint Incumbent J.C. Lan to the Gwinnett County Water & Sewerage Authority. Term expires December 31, 2025. District 2/Ku Consent – Ku

**2025-0022 Approval** to appoint Incumbent David Witham to the Gwinnett County Water & Sewerage Authority. Term expires December 31, 2025. District 4/Holtkamp

Consent - Holtkamp

#### III. New Business

#### 1. Commissioners

2025-0027 Approval to appoint to the Audit Committee: Incumbents Kirkland Carden and Ben Ku representing Board of Commissioners, and Incumbent Tiana Garner representing Constitutional Officer/Separately Elected Official. Terms expire December 31, 2028. Board of Commissioners Appointments Consent – Watkins

**2025-0057 Approval** to accept the resignation of Lindsey Jorstad from the Gwinnett United In Drug Education (GUIDE) Board. Term expires December 31, 2026. Board of Commissioners Appointment Consent – Ku

**2025-0058 Approval** to appoint Carion Marcelin to the Gwinnett United In Drug Education (GUIDE) Board to fill the unexpired term of Lindsey Jorstad. Term expires December 31, 2026. Board of Commissioners Appointment Consent – Carden

**2025-0072 Approval** to appoint Colleen Frangos to the Development Advisory Committee as the Non-Residential Developer Representative. Member serves at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners. Board of Commissioners Appointment Consent – Holtkamp

**2025-0073 Approval** to appoint Erika Fadahunsi Lizardo to the Family and Children Services Board to fill the unexpired term of Davida Baker. Term expires June 30, 2026. District 2/Ku

Consent - Ku

**2025-0074 Approval** to appoint Incumbent Dr. Tameka Womack to the Gwinnett Animal Advisory Council. Term expires December 31, 2026. Chairwoman's Appointment

Consent - Hendrickson

**2025-0075 Approval** to appoint Christina Westmeyer to the Gwinnett Animal Advisory Council to fill the unexpired term of Tati Romeo. Term expires December 31, 2025. District 1/Carden

Consent - Carden

**2025-0076 Approval** to appoint Incumbent Marlene Fosque to the Gwinnett County Human Services Advisory Board. Term expires December 31, 2026. Chairwoman's Appointment

Consent - Hendrickson

#### **III. New Business**

#### 1. Commissioners

**2025-0077 Approval** to appoint Courtenay Strickland to the Gwinnett County Human Services Advisory Board. Term expires December 31, 2026. Incumbent Maria Najlis. District 2/Ku

Consent - Ku

**2025-0078 Approval** to appoint Incumbent Scott Haggard to the Gwinnett County Planning Commission. Term expires December 31, 2025. Chairwoman's Appointment

Consent - Hendrickson

**2025-0079 Approval** to appoint Incumbent Eric Thigpen to the Gwinnett County Recreation Authority. Term expires December 31, 2028. Chairwoman's Appointment

Consent - Hendrickson

**2025-0080 Approval** to appoint Arvind Narayanan to the Gwinnett County Stormwater Authority, Seat 2. Term expires December 31, 2028. Incumbent Neil Schapp. District 2/Ku

Consent - Ku

**2025-0081 Approval** to appoint Incumbent Marsha Bomar to the Gwinnett County Transit Advisory Board. Term expires December 31, 2028. Chairwoman's Appointment

Consent - Hendrickson

**2025-0082 Approval** to appoint Incumbent Bryan Kerlin to the Gwinnett County Water & Sewerage Authority. Term expires December 31, 2025. Chairwoman's Appointment

Consent - Hendrickson

**2025-0092 Approval** to appoint a Vice Chairman of the Board of Commissioners for 2025.

Consent - Ku - Appoint Jasper Watkins

#### 2. Financial Services/Russell Royal

**2025-0040 Approval** and adoption of the fiscal year 2025 Operating, Capital, and Grants Budgets and the preliminary approval of the 2026-2030 Capital Improvement Plan.

Discussion - Ku

#### **III. New Business**

#### 2. Financial Services/Russell Royal

**2025-0005 Approval/authorization** of the November 30, 2024 Monthly Financial Status Report and ratification of all budget amendments. (Staff Recommendation: Approval)

Consent - Ku

#### 3. Law Department/Michael P. Ludwiczak

**2025-0024 Approval/authorization** of a Settlement and Release Agreement in the matter of Vision Outdoor Media, LLC v. Gwinnett County, Georgia, Superior Court of Gwinnett County, Civil Action File No. 23-A-09593-7. Subject to approval as to form by the Law Department.

Consent - Carden

#### 4. Tax Commissioner/Denise R. Mitchell

**2025-0061 Approval** to authorize Denise R. Mitchell, Tax Commissioner of Gwinnett County, and her successors, to accept personal, company, certified, treasurer's, or cashier's checks, or bank, postal, or express money orders in payment of any fees and/or taxes due to the State and County, in accordance with O.C.G.A. Section 48-5-146. (Staff Recommendation: Approval)

Consent – Holtkamp

**2025-0062 Approval** to authorize Denise R. Mitchell, Tax Commissioner of Gwinnett County, and her successors, to correct obvious clerical errors in accordance with O.C.G.A. Section 48-5-380(e), and to issue refunds in accordance with O.C.G.A. Section 48-5-241. (Staff Recommendation: Approval)

Consent – Holtkamp

**2025-0064 Approval/authorization** for the Chairwoman to execute a Resolution delegating authority to the Tax Commissioner to make the determination to waive certain ad valorem tax penalties pursuant to O.C.G.A. Section 48-5-242. Subject to approval as to form by the Law Department. (Staff Recommendation: Approval)

Consent - Carden

**2025-0065 Approval/authorization** for the Chairwoman to execute a Resolution delegating authority to the Tax Commissioner to make determination to waive certain interest on ad valorem taxes pursuant to O.C.G.A. Section 48-5-242. Subject to approval as to form by the Law Department. (Staff Recommendation: Approval)

Consent - Holtkamp

## **III. New Business**

## 5. Transportation/Lewis Cooksey

**2025-0025 Award BL142-24**, Sugarloaf Parkway at SR 8/US 29 intersection improvement project, to Ohmshiv Construction, LLC, amount not to exceed \$2,261,851.10. Contract to follow award. Subject to approval as to form by the Law Department. This project is funded by the 2017 SPLOST Program. (Staff Recommendation: Award)

Consent - Carden

## IV. Adjournment

{Action: Adjourn Motion: Ku Second: Carden Vote: 5-0; Hendrickson-Yes; Carden-Yes; Ku-Yes; Watkins-Yes; Holtkamp-Yes}